Publication Date


Series Number



This report identifies, describes and locates nine sub-regions within the land cleared for agricultural uses in the Avon River Basin in Western Australia. The sub-regions are: Darling Range; Dale/Upper Avon; Avon Valley; Yealering Lakes; Mortlock; Northern Sandplain; south-east Lakes; Carrabin; Southern Cross. The sub-regions are described in terms of their distinguishing biophysical characteristics of: soils and related original vegetative cover; general topography; surface and sub-surface hyrdological stus; underlying geology; and rainfall and evapotranspiration range. Current dominant land use, economic drivers and land use pressures are identified for each sub-region.

Number of Pages



Western Australia, Landforms, Soil types, Land resources, Northam region (WA), Land capability, Soil, Land use, Avon Valley region (WA)


Maps are not included as part of the complete document download. If this report contains a map, it will be available in the Individual Parts list below.